This past weekend during Pastor Steve’s message I was struck by the honesty in one of his statements. He told us that there was a time that he was fearful of reading books that challenged his faith, fearful that they may pose him with a question that would make him doubt his faith. I don’t know about you but I really appreciated hearing him share from his heart.

Later that night as the house was beginning to quiet down I picked up one of the many guitars laying around our house and began writing a song about Pastor Steve’s statement. The song gives voice to the tension between doubt and belief. My prayer is that it would speak to you, enjoy.

Pastor Joshua


Doubt

Verse 1
There’s a part of me - That seems to want to be
Free from the confines of this reality
That by my very nature - I am nothing more
Than a wounded and wandering, restless soul

Chorus
I have seen the work of God in me
So I don’t know why doubt colors my eyes

Verse 2
I’m too scared to go - Where they challenge me
Fearful that they would shake my belief
And that I can’t give an answer - For the questions that they raise
And that my fragile faith would be erased

Chorus
I have seen the work of God in me
So I don’t know why doubt colors my eyes
I have seen the work of God in me
So I don’t know why doubt colors my eyes

Bridge
So I’ll be still - And try to know that He’s near
Even when I feel - All alone
Let my prayer be - That faith would arise
Please open my eyes - Open my eyes

Ending
I have seen the work of God in me
So I don’t know why doubt colors my eyes