About 10 years ago I lived in Watertown NY. I had some close friends that I met with early every Wednesday morning at a restaurant for breakfast called the Golden Unicorn. They were a group of amazing men. There was a Dr. of Psychology, an Orthopedic Doctor, a JAG Judge in the Army, a very successful businessman, and me. I always felt a little out of place with all of these successful professional men but they were gracious to me and I learned a lot from them. Sometimes we would read a book together and discuss it over our morning breakfast, and other times we would go through seasons of prayer and intercession for one another. One year we decided that we would strengthen a part of our spiritual life that was severely lacking, Scripture memorization. Man, it was tough! We committed to use the Topical Memory System which had a learning one verse per week. Each week would build on previous weeks so that we were reciting not just one week but all of the weeks every Wednesday. Some of us were slackers sometimes but we held each other accountable and it was amazing how much Scripture got stuck inside of us. It was an amazing experience for sure!

I thought that this week we could memorize some verses together. One per day from the NIV. Here’s the first one:



1 Corinthians 3:16
Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?